Clicky

miniCHALLENGE#02 - RailClone - Page 3
Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 25 to 36 of 79

Thread: miniCHALLENGE#02 - RailClone

  1. #25
    Junior Member itoosoft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Congrats Newke, it's an amazing use of RailClone.
    Carlos Quintero
    Itoo Software
    www.itoosoft.com

  2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many
     

  3. #26
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Thanks

    @leelou : there are two methods (and maybe more) to "slice" the mesh.

    --The first is the one i used on the image :
    Slice the mesh every 5mm by using the "Slice plane" function of the editable poly modifier. This took something like 15-20 minutes to do... You can slice on a larger scale if you want less definition. After that, you just have to click on the edges sub-object, and all the edges you have created by slicing are selected automatically. Just click on "create shape"/"linear" and you have a pack of spline for your railcloning fun!

    --The second one i tried just now :
    Create a simple plane, duplicate it directly many times with 5 mm spaces between each plane. Attach them together and use the "Procutter" compound object to slice the main object. Now you can extract the spline as in the first method. This method is way faster than the first one.

    Now you can play with endless possibilities, experimenting with different meshes, different segments and different materials...
    It's a shame animation stuff is disabled on the lite version, i'd like to play with this as well
    Last edited by newke; 01-04-2011 at 11:37 AM.

  4. #27
    Senior Member Rod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Grand Junction, Colorado
    Posts
    291

    Default

    What a creative and impressive peice of work. Any chance of seeing diamonds falling from her hand? Good stuff indeed!

  5. #28
    Senior Member artmak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    101

    Default

    This is so nice, and very creative idea, I cannot believe you actually used a railclone plugin to create this, they should use it in their gallery to show that its not only for rails and roads!!

  6. #29
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by newke View Post

    --The first is the one i used on the image :

    --The second one i tried just now :
    Why not just use the section splineobject
    (create panel -> shapes -> section ...)

    it creates a virtual shape that you can collapse to a spline.
    This would be the fasted method imo.

  7. #30
    Junior Member itoosoft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by artmak View Post
    This is so nice, and very creative idea, I cannot believe you actually used a railclone plugin to create this, they should use it in their gallery to show that its not only for rails and roads!!
    Of course we will pleased to use it in our gallery if Newke agrees.
    Carlos Quintero
    Itoo Software
    www.itoosoft.com

  8. #31
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Just tried the section shape object, it create one shape at a time, it's similar to the first method i used.
    If you use multiple planes collapsed in one objet with procutter, you are slicing the whole object in one clic, which is faster than moving the slice plane a hundred times i think.

  9. #32
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    399

    Default

    Ok, here is my take on this.





    See here and here for high-res images.

    The image below says it all (more or less).



    I started with a satellite photo and derived a four splines from the outline of the building that corresponded to its four different types of levels.

    Then I isolated an modelled four facade elements. Using RailClone Lite, I swept some elements along the splines, completing about 80 per cent of the building this way. The results were extremely predictable. In order to make the elements fit exactly the facade's original layout, I translated them on the x axis for fine positioning.

    I set up my materials before plugging the facade elements into RailClone for sweeping. The modelling and texturing were based on a large number of photos of the building I'd shot. I used Materialwerk's Brix plugin for the brown tiles.

    Finally, I added some additional detail (some windows, the ground floor wall, etc.), some entourage, set up my lighting rig and rendered.
    Visit my blog

  10. #33
    Senior Member kodissimo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    114

    Default

    Hello Bertrand.

    It is looking really nice. I like especially the 2nd shoot.
    Are you gonna finish this scene or leave it as it is?

    Best wishes.

  11. #34
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    399

    Default

    Thanks, I will leave it as it is. I think, as a Railclone showcase, it probably works better that way, by focusing the eye on what the plugin can do.
    Visit my blog

  12. #35
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Very interesting, the second shot is looking very nice. What time did it take to model the building, from modeling and texturing the different pieces, to the railcloning process ?

  13. #36
    Senior Member Rod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Grand Junction, Colorado
    Posts
    291

    Default

    rockin image BBB3, yours and the other images sure make it hard to work on my image LOL... good going indeed!!!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •